All Rinnegan Users in Naruto Universe

Rinnegan is a powerful dojutsu owned by a few selected characters throughout the Naruto Verse. It is the most powerful eye among the great three Dojutsu: Byakugan, Sharingan, and Rinnegan.

All Rinnegan Users In Naruto

Rinnegan is characterized by a ripple-like pattern and is shown to have spread over the eyeballs. While Rinnegan without any doubt is one of the rarest and most incredible abilities a member of the Uchiha Clan can obtain, it is not without some drawbacks.

Rinnegan powers require a great deal of chakra to use it effectively. That being said, the powers and abilities of a Rinnegan eye are so overpowered that it shadows any other drawbacks it might have. Hence the reason why all the characters who have possessed Rinnegan’s eye are amongst the most powerful characters in the series.

Also Read: How Did Sarada Awaken Her Mangekyou Sharingan?

All Rinnegan Users In Naruto Shippuden

Now, without any further ado, here is a quick list of all the characters that have possessed the Rinnegan.

  • Uzumaki Nagato
  • Uchiha Obito
  • Uchiha Sasuke
  • Uchiha Madara
  • Hagoromo Otsutsuki


All Rinnegan Users In Naruto

Nagato is the first ever character in the Naruto series we saw with a Rinnegan eye. He was a member of the Uzumaki Clan and was also the disciple of one of the 3 Legendary Sannins, Jiraiya. He was taught by Jiraiya to use his Rinnegan powers to their potential.

Speaking of the powers of Nagato’s Rinnegan Eye, his eye is one of the most powerful in the series. Nagato’s Rinnegan allowed him to control the Six Paths of Pain. These six paths as you might have already seen in the story are basically six dead bodies that Nagato controlled remotely.

Each of his six paths had its own unique powers and abilities, with the Path of Pain being the strongest. Shinra Tensei or Planetary Devastation is the deadliest power of his Rinnegan eye possessed by Pain. Besides, Nagato also has the ability to absorb chakra or summon creatures.

Most importantly, with his Rinnegan eye, Nagato also had the power to revive the dead, which he did on a mass scale during the Pain Assault Arc.

Madara Uchiha

All Rinnegan Users In Naruto

Madara Uchiha, also known as the Ghost of Uchiha, is not only the most legendary villain in Naruto Anime but also one of the most legendary antagonists of all time.

He is one of the few characters in Naruto who awakened his Rinnegan eye on his own. He was the leader of the Uchiha Clan and is also the main villain of the Fourth Great Ninja War who single-handedly toyed with the entire shinobi world.

Madara awakened the Rinnegan by combining his and Senju Hashirama’s Chakara. For a Sharingan eye to be evolved into Rinnegan, it requires both the Yin-Yang chakra. Since he has only one half, that’s why he had to combine his chakra with Hashirama’s.

Speaking of Madara’s Rinnegan abilities, his eye gave him the power to use Limbo. Limbo is basically a technique that allowed Madara to create an invisible and intangible shadow clone in a different plane.

Each Limbo clone is as powerful as the original body of Madara. Besides this, Madara also had the ability to control the Tailed Beasts with his Rinnegan eye.

Other power and abilities of Madara’s Rinnegan were:

  • See Chakra Flow
  • Mastery of all nature elements
  • Six Paths Techniques

Sasuke Uchiha

All Rinnegan Users In Naruto

Sasuke is the last character in Naruto to awaken Rinnegan’s eye. He awakened the Rinnegan after receiving the six paths chakra from the Sage of Six Path, Otsutsuki Hagoromo.

Amenotejikara is one of the unique abilities Sasuke’s Rinnegan offers. With this power, Sasuke can teleport himself and other people to any specific location within a certain range.

Besides this, Sasuke also has the power to control gravity and also create Chibaku Tensei just like Nagato did, using his Rinnegan eye. This being said, Sasuke no longer has possession of his Rinnegan as he was stabbed by the Borushiki.

Also Read: Who Will Train Boruto During The Time Skip?

Obito Uchiha

Obito Uchiha, a member of the Uchiha Clan, and also the leader of the Akatsuki is another character to have possessed the legendary Rinnegan eye.

Obito awakened the Rinnegan eye after he went into the Ten-tails form, or after gaining the six paths senjustu.

As the wielder of the Rinnegan eye, Obito Uchiha had the power to control life and death itself. He could also use the Rinne Rebirth technique just like Pain did, to bring anyone back to life by sacrificing his own life force.

Since Obito basically took over Nagato’s Rinnegan eye, he had all the abilities Nagato’s Rinnegan possessed. Obito could not only use the Six Paths of Pain but could also use the Rinnegan to summon the Gedo Statue.

Hagoromo Otsutsuki

All Rinnegan Users In Naruto

Hagoromo Otsutsuki is arguably the strongest character in Naruto Verse. He is the son of Kaguya Otsutsuki and is an extra-terrestrial being different from the normal Naruto characters.

Hagoromo awakened his Rinnegan at that instant when he was forced to kill his brother Hamura Otsutsuki, during their fight against their mother, Kaguya. At that time, Hamura was under Kaguya’s control and he couldn’t control his senses.

Right after he landed a fatal blow on his brother Hamura, Hagoromo’s Sharingan evolved into a Rinnegan. He possessed a special ability unique to him which is known as the Creation of All Things.

With the Creation of All Things, Hagoromo was able to turn fantasy into reality and was also able to create anything he wanted out of thin war. This technique used by Hagoromo is based on Yin-Yang release and he created the 9-tailed beasts out of this very ability.

Kaguya Otsutsuki Doesn’t Have A Rinnegan

Many Naruto fans confuse Kaguya’s eye for Rinnegan. What Kaguya possesses is a Rinne-Sharingan which is very different from a Rinnegan eye. Rinne-Sharingan is the parent to both the Sharingan and Rinnegan eyes.

Since it’s the parent eye, it is also the most powerful eye in the entirety of Naruto and Naruto Shippuden. The only characters that have possessed Rinne-Sharingan in the Naruto Verse are the Ten-tails, and the progenitor of chakra, Kaguya Otsutsuki.

The Rinne-Sharingan has powers far greater and stronger than that of a typical Rinnegan. Anyone with Rinne-Sharingan can cast the most powerful Genjutsu known as Infinite Tsukuyomi.

Source: Fandom!